Introduction

25 May

I’ll be honest, this whole thing started during an evening out in Spain.  After a few cocktails I was blabbering on about art and mentioned that I wanted to start a website that would try to explain art in a way that wasn’t patronizing or overly dense.  I realize that most people don’t have degrees in art history, but that doesn’t mean you can’t learn about art and appreciate what it can teach us.  Surprisingly, I received a very positive response from those I talked to.  A little more than a year later, here we are.

I’m not trying to make people into experts.  I just hope that the next time you visit a museum or gallery or see a great building, you’ll have something to think about.  I’ll try to cover various topics, including specific artists, works, styles, museum guides, and even commentary about what’s going on in the world of art & architecture.  I don’t want to get into great detail, just give you the main reasons why certain names in art are so important, and how important art is to our daily lives.  If you have any specific questions, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

